ChatGPT in Viber: What to expect when you use AI

We’ve teamed up with OpenAI to bring helpful AI features right into the app you already use - designed to make your daily life easier, help you catch up quickly, and elevate your conversations. Here’s what you should know about how these tools work and how we protect your data.

Your peace of mind is our priority

Viber does not read your private chats, and does not use your data to train AI models. The AI tools are passive by default - they do not run in the background or scan your text history, until a user chooses to activate them.

Find quick answers below on how tools like Chat Summary, ChatGPT in Chat, and Image Remix work, how we safeguard your data, and how privacy settings apply to your region.

How Viber protects you

Does ChatGPT read my private chats?

AI tools on Viber are passive by default. They operate contextually, and are only triggered when a user makes a request using that tool. If you or the person you’re talking to are using a ChatGPT-powered feature, like AI Polish, the system processes the relevant data to perform that action.

Does OpenAI use my personal chats to train its AI?

No - OpenAI does not use your personal chats on Viber to train its models.

Does OpenAI train its models on my ChatGPT Tab conversation?

Viber does not share your information with OpenAI for model training. However, if you log into your own ChatGPT account within Viber and your settings allow data training, OpenAI will follow those preferences.

What information is actually sent to OpenAI when I use a feature?

The exact information needed to make that specific feature work for you (alongside underlying technical information required to allow connectivity). When you tag @ChatGPT in a chat, for example, only the tagged preceding messages are sent to ChatGPT for it to understand the context. To summarize a chat, only the unread messages and participants’ names are sent to ChatGPT. If you prompt ChatGPT to recap all unread chats, it works the same way: ChatGPT creates a summary for each chat using only the unread messages and participants’ names. In addition, your rough location - country and city - are shared to improve the relevance and quality of the response.

Are AI features automatically active?

These features are integrated into your Viber app as a global upgrade, but they only process information when and if users choose to use them. OpenAI never has access to your phone number, profile, or contacts.

When exactly does ChatGPT operate within Viber?

Only when you or the person you’re chatting to are using it. The tool only works when users manually start using it, like requesting a summary or a translation. The system will securely process the relevant chat data to deliver the specific result the user asked for (Chat Summary, Image Remix, etc.) - this is necessary to perform the user’s requested action.

Do other people see my ChatGPT prompts?

It depends on how you use it: - Your prompts and results are completely private to you in the ChatGPT Tab - Other members in a group or private chat will see your prompt and the AI's response when you tag @ChatGPT - When you remix an image, other people in the chat will see the final edited image if you choose to share it, but they cannot see the text prompt you used to create it

A quick reminder on AI safety

AI is a wonderful assistant, but it isn't perfect. It can occasionally misunderstand the nuances of human conversation or produce inaccurate summaries. For your own security, please never share sensitive personal, financial, medical, or password information with any AI tool.

Good to know

What does the "Disconnect ChatGPT account" button mean?

The Disconnect ChatGPT button in your settings menu is specifically there to unlink a personal, external ChatGPT account that you manually logged into to get more daily generations. If you never explicitly signed into your personal OpenAI account inside Viber, you are using our built-in anonymous tier.

How can I manage my AI feature settings?

On your phone, go to More (the three dots) -> Settings -> Calls and messages and adjust the toggles to your liking.

Is the ChatGPT Tab a permanent part of the navigation bar?

Yes, the ChatGPT Tab is a permanent shortcut in your bottom navigation bar. If you choose not to tap it, it remains completely inactive.

How can I use the Remix Image tool in my conversations?

You’ll see the Image Remix button right under photos in your chats. You can easily change up your photos with fun, creative styles whenever you want. If you don’t want to remix images, you can remove this button from your screen by toggling off the Image Remix setting in your More -> Settings -> Calls and messages menu. Regions of use may affect controls over the remix settings.

I turned off the features - why is ChatGPT still in my chat list?

If you previously interacted with ChatGPT through the ChatGPT Tab, it is automatically added to your chat list. An empty chat may stay visible in your list.

Why did my chat summary or translation change languages?

AI models process text dynamically, so they can occasionally miss a local linguistic nuance and generate a response in English or another language. If this happens, just type a direct instruction into the chat bar - like "Translate this to Ukrainian" or "Reply only in Bulgarian" - and the system will immediately adjust to your preferred language.